Press Releases

Fri, May 31, 2024
The final application deadline for approved student and employee photo IDs for voting in the 2024 general election is Friday, June 14.
Tue, May 28, 2024
The State Board of Elections will hold a remote meeting at 11 a.m. Tuesday, June 4, 2024.
Thu, May 16, 2024
Under state law, election officials must release the number of provisional ballots cast by voting method in each county in North Carolina by noon two days after each election.
Wed, May 15, 2024
The State Board took steps to ensure that no one could determine how any individual voted in the May 14 second primary.
Wed, May 15, 2024
State Board releases number of provisional ballots cast by county in the May 14 second primary.
Tue, May 14, 2024
All 100 counties will hand count ballots from randomly selected precincts to check the accuracy of voting equipment.
Sat, May 11, 2024
Karen Brinson Bell, executive director of the State Board of Elections, will hold a virtual press availability at 10:30 a.m. Monday, May 13, to discuss Election Day voting in the 2024 Republican second primary.
Wed, May 8, 2024
The 2024 second primary election will be held statewide on Tuesday, May 14, 2024. In-person early voting ends at 3 p.m. Saturday, May 11, in all 100 counties.
Thu, Apr 25, 2024
North Carolinians convicted of felonies who have not completed their sentences – including any jail or prison term, as well as any periods of probation, parole, or post-release supervision – are not permitted to register to vote or vote in the state.
Wed, Apr 24, 2024
Early voting for the 2024 second primary begins Thursday, April 25, and ends Saturday, May 11.