North Carolina State Board of Elections (NCSBE)

The North Carolina State Board of Elections is the state agency charged with the administration of the elections process and campaign finance disclosure and compliance.

The Governor appoints the members from a list of nominees submitted to the Governor by the State party chair of each of the two political parties having the highest number of registered affiliates. Not more than three members of the State Board shall be members of the same political party.

The state’s 100 county boards of elections conduct local elections, operate voting sites, maintain voter registration lists and handle numerous aspects of election administration. The office of the State Board works in conjunction with county boards of elections offices to ensure that elections are conducted lawfully and fairly.

Members of the State Board

Damon Circosta

Chair damon.circosta.board@ncsbe.gov

Damon Circosta, Chair

Board Experience: Chair since 2019

Party Affiliation: Democratic Party

Occupation: Adjunct Professor at Duke University, and Executive Director of the A.J. Fletcher Foundation

Hometown: Raleigh, North Carolina

Stella Anderson

Secretary stella.anderson.board@ncsbe.gov

Stella Anderson, Secretary

Board Experience: Member since 2018; Watauga County Board of Elections 2005–2013, 2015–2018

Party Affiliation: Democratic Party

Occupation: Professor of Management, Appalachian State University

Hometown: Boone, North Carolina

Jeff Carmon

Board Member jeff.carmon.board@ncsbe.gov

Jeff Carmon, Board Member

Board Experience: Member since 2019

Party Affiliation: Democratic Party

Occupation: Licensed Attorney; Adjunct Professor at NCCU School of Law; and Counsel, Contracts Manager at Mycovia Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Hometown: Snow Hill, North Carolina

Stacy “Four” Eggers IV

Board Member four.eggers.board@ncsbe.gov

Stacy “Four” Eggers IV, Board Member

Board Experience: Member in 2018, appointed again in October 2020; former board member on Watauga County Board of Elections (2005–2013)

Party Affiliation: Republican Party

Occupation: Managing Partner of Eggers Law

Hometown: Boone, North Carolina

Tommy Tucker

Board Member tommy.tucker.board@ncsbe.gov

Tommy Tucker, Board Member

Board Experience: Member since October 2020

Party Affiliation: Republican Party

Occupation: Mechanical Contractor

Hometown: Waxhaw, North Carolina

State Board Executive Director

Karen Brinson Bell

Executive Director karen.bell@ncsbe.gov

Karen Brinson Bell has served as executive director of the North Carolina State Board of Elections since June 1, 2019.

She has worked in elections administration since 2006 in county, state, and national roles. As North Carolina’s chief elections official, she leads the state agency, which is charged with administering elections and campaign finance compliance, overseeing the 100 county boards of elections, and ensuring voting for more than 7 million voters.