Qualifications to Register to Vote

To register to vote in North Carolina, you must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Live in the county where you are registering, and have resided there for at least 30 days prior to Election Day.
    • The federal Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) allows certain voters who are active duty military or their families as well as U.S. citizens abroad special rights that provide an expedited means to register and vote by mail-in ballot. Find more information on Military and Overseas Voting.
  • Be at least 18 years old, or will be by the date of the general election.
  • Not be serving a felony sentence, including any period of probation, post-release supervision, or parole.

Note: An inactive voter is still a registered voter. A voter who is inactive status will be asked to confirm their addresses when they appear to vote. No special document is required.

Information Required to Register

The voter registration form requires the following information:

  • Checking the boxes confirming that you are a U.S. citizen and that you meet the age requirements.
  • Your legal first name, last name, and suffix (if applicable).
  • Your date of birth.
  • One of the following:
    • An identification number: Your NC Driver’s License Number/NC DMV ID Number or, if you do not have one, the last four digits of your Social Security Number.
    • If you do not have one of those forms of identification, you must check the box confirming that you do not have one.
  • Residential address, including street number, name, and type, and unit number (if applicable), city, zip code, and county.
  • Mailing address, if you do not receive mail at your residential address.
  • Your signature and date attesting to your qualifications to vote.

Additional optional information about you can also be provided on your voter registration form, including your gender, ethnicity, and race. You may also choose to affiliate with a political party recognized in North Carolina. And your contact information can be listed so that your county board of elections can contact you with any questions.

Registering as a College Student

Find out where to register and how to register during the early voting period at Registering as a College Student.

Registering as a Person in the NC Criminal Justice System

Find information at Registering as a Person in the NC Criminal System.

Preregistering to Vote When You are 16 or 17 Years Old

Eligible voters who preregister will automatically be registered to vote when they turn 18 years old. Find more information at Preregistering to Vote When You are 16 or 17 Years Old.