Voters Will Be Asked to Show Photo ID Beginning in 2020

Photo ID is not required in any election in 2019.

Beginning in 2020, North Carolina voters will be required to provide photo identification when voting in-person or absentee-by-mail, with some exceptions.

 

No ID?

  • Beginning in 2020, when you present to vote, you will be asked to show photo ID
  • If you do not show photo ID, you may vote provisionally. Your provisional ballot will count if you bring acceptable photo ID to your county board of elections office before canvass, or if you sign an affidavit declaring that a reasonable impediment prevented you from showing photo ID
  • If you vote by mail, you must enclose a copy of your photo ID unless you sign an affidavit declaring that a reasonable impediment prevented you from enclosing a copy of your photo ID.
  • You can obtain a free photo ID at your county board of elections office any time until the Friday before the election.

 

Acceptable Photo IDs for Voting in 2020

Driver License or Non-Operator ID from North Carolina

  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

Driver License or Non-Operator ID from a Different U.S. State or Territory

  • Acceptable ONLY if voter registered within 90 days ofthe election
  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

United States Passport
  • Includes U.S. Passport Card
  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

North Carolina
Voter ID Card
  • Available free at your county board ofelections until the Friday before the election.
  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

Approved
Employee ID

 

Approved
Student ID
  • Must come from an approved school.
  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

Tribal Enrollment Card
  • Issued by:
  1. An approved state tribe; OR
  2. A federal tribe, if the card contains a photograph and an expiration date.
  • Must be valid and unexpired OR expired for one year or less
  • May be expired if voter is over the age of 65 and ID was unexpired on their 65th birthday

 

Military ID Card or
Veterans ID Card
  • May be used even if expired or if there is no expiration date.

 

 

Voter ID Requirements

In the 2018 general election, 55 percent of voters approved a constitutional amendment requiring photo ID to vote in North Carolina.

Subsequently, the N.C. General Assembly approved Session Law 2018-144, which implements the constitutional requirement for voter photo ID.

The Photo ID requirement is not in place for any election in 2019 because of Session Law 2019-4 (signed by governor on March 14, 2019.)

Resources

 

 

References

Session Law 2019-4 
(delays implementation)

Session Law 2018-144 
(Voter ID requirements)

Constitutional Amendment Requiring Photo ID to Vote 

Order of NC Court of Appeals March 6

Draft Rule 08 NCAC 17 .0107
(Requesting a Voter Photo ID Card)

Draft Rule 08 NCAC 17 .0108
(Requests for Approval of Student & Employee IDs)