Press Inquiries

The State Board of Elections is the agency responsible for the administration of elections and campaign finance disclosure and compliance in North Carolina.

Press inquiries should be directed the Board's public information officer, Patrick Gannon

Press Releases


Enter Search Value:
- without any prefix or suffix to find all records where a column contains the value you enter, e.g. Net
- with | prefix to find all records where a column starts with the value you enter, e.g. |Network
- with | suffix to find all records where a column ends with the value you enter, e.g. Network|
- with | prefix and suffix to find all records containing the value you enter exactly, e.g. |Network|


Press Release

The Great seal of the State of North Carolina



Date: 9/9/2019


[email protected]

Tuesday is Election Day for Voters in 3rd and 9th Congressional Districts, city of Charlotte

RALEIGH, N.C. – Tuesday (September 10) is Election Day for voters in North Carolina’s 3rd and 9th Congressional Districts, as well as the primary for city of Charlotte municipal elections.

Please see this video from State Board of Elections Executive Director Karen Brinson Bell. It describes efforts of state and county elections officials to ensure the elections will go on Tuesday despite Hurricane Dorian’s impact on North Carolina.

“Events like those we experienced the past few days show that elections officials don’t stop, even when a hurricane knocks at the door,” Brinson Bell said. “I encourage registered voters in the 3rd and 9th congressional districts and the city of Charlotte to vote on Tuesday if you have not done so already. Your polling places are set up, and election officials are ready to greet you.”

Only one regular polling place will not be available for Tuesday’s voting because of the storm. In the 3rd Congressional District, voters in Tyrrell County’s Columbia precinct will vote at the Tyrrell County Board of Elections, 403 Main Street, Columbia. The Tyrrell Hall site typically used by those voters is instead being used for Hurricane Dorian emergency relief efforts.

The State Board of Elections offers the following 9 tips for voters as they head to the polls:

  1. Only registered voters who reside in one of these congressional districts or the city of Charlotte are eligible to vote on Election Day. To find out if you are eligible and to view a sample ballot, go to the State Board of Elections’ Voter Lookup tool here:
  2. Polls are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters in line at 7:30 p.m. will be able to cast a ballot.
  3. You can find your Election Day polling place here:
  4. Same-day voter registration is not available on Election Day.
  5. Voters who need assistance or accommodations at the polls must request it. Individuals who are unable to enter the polling place may vote curbside.
  6. Voter photo identification is not required in any North Carolina election in 2019. It will be required to vote in 2020, with exceptions.
  7. If you present to vote and your name is not on the voter list, you may request a provisional ballot. No voter will be turned away.
  8. The State Board asks that all voters respect the right of others to participate in the election. Intimidating any voter is a crime. Voters who feel harassed or intimidated should notify an election official immediately.
  9. Election results will begin posting after 7:30 p.m. For results of the congressional district elections, go here. For city of Charlotte primary election results, go here.


3rd Congressional District

A special election is being held to replace former Congressman Walter Jones, who died in February. 

The district includes 17 counties in eastern North Carolina and stretches from Camp Lejeune to the Virginia border. (See map.) The 3rd District candidates are: Libertarian Tim Harris, Constitution Party candidate Greg Holt, Republican Greg Murphy and Democrat Allen Thomas.

9th Congressional District

In February, the State Board of Elections unanimously ordered a new election in the district after a four-day evidentiary hearing showed a “coordinated, unlawful and substantially resourced absentee ballot scheme” operated in Bladen and Robeson counties during the 2018 general election.

The district includes all or parts of eight counties in southeastern North Carolina. (See map.) The 9th District candidates are: Republican Dan Bishop, Democrat Dan McCready, Libertarian Jeff Scott and Green Party candidate Allen Smith.





Media Kits


TopicLink to Portal
Congressional District 9 HearingLink