
Before you sign, please review ONE-STOP APPLICATION  or AUTHORIZATION TO VOTE (ATV)  form.

1
CHECK YOUR NAME.

• Is your current name printed on the form?
• Is your current name spelled correctly on the form?

2
CHECK YOUR ADDRESS.

• Is your correct residential address listed on the form?
• If applicable, is your current address listed on the form?
• Will you have lived at this address at least 30 days 
before election day?

3
READ THIS STATEMENT:

Beginning in 2016, You will need a PHOTO ID to vote. 
Do you have one of these?

4
If the voter indicates he or she DOES NOT have one 
of the forms of Photo ID on the chart, direct the voter 
to sign the Acknowledgment of No Photo ID on the 
form, and ensure the voter signs in both places.

Then provide the voter with the card on obtaining Photo ID.

DIRECT ATTENTION TO THE COLOR POSTER OF VOTER ID’S

VOTER CHECK-IN REVIEW DOCUMENT



IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRST-TIME VOTERS

Federal law (Help America Vote Act of 2002) and state law (GS § 163-166.12) set requirements 
for certain voters to show identification when they vote. These requirements apply to any voter 
who has:

 1)   Newly registered to vote in a county.
 2)   Has not previously voted in an election that includes a ballot item for federal office in 
                North Carolina.
 3)   Did not provide on their voter registration application, a valid North Carolina driver 
                license number or the last four digits of their social security number, or did not 
                provide a copy of an identification document when the application was submitted.

These first-time voters must present to a local election official one of the following:

 1)   A current and valid photo identification (refer to list of acceptable photo identification).
 2)   A copy of one of the following documents that shows the name and address of the 
                voter: a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other   
                government document.

VOTING IN CORRECT PRECINCT

North Carolina law requires voters to vote in their proper precinct based on the address where 
they have resided for at least 30 days before the date of an election.

GS § 163-55(a)
Every person born in the United States, and every person who has been naturalized, and 
who shall have resided in the precinct in which the person offers to vote for 30 days next 
preceding an election, shall, if otherwise qualified, be qualified to vote in any election held 
in this State in the precinct in which the person resides. Removal from one precinct to 
another precinct shall not operate to deprive any person of the right to vote in the 
precinct from which the person has removed until 30 days after the person's removal.


